wawick pentath-run 2014

I’ve just spent the weekend in Warwick participating in the annual Pentath-run. It’s a fantastic and unique event so when I heard friends were going I couldn’t resist.

On Saturday there was a 1/2 marathon (21.1km), 4.6km x-country and 5km TT. This was backed up on Sunday with a 10km hill climb and a 1500m sprint through Warwick town centre. The idea is to complete all five races which add up to 42.2km, marathon distance.

I was hoping the Saturday 1/2 marathon race would help my Gold Coast marathon training (with only 5 weeks to go I needed to test my pace) but I wasn’t expecting so many hills, which I hadn’t trained for since Gold Coast is a flat course. The hills at 16 and 18k were particularly memorable but I kept repeating ‘shut up legs’ and managed a PB. The landscape was breath-taking, with fog rising off the fields as we ran through the countryside from Warwick to Yangan.

I chose to miss the x-country and took on the time trial (TT), reluctantly and with heavy legs but the atmosphere soon took over and I was quite happy with my time. The best thing about the TT was the location at Sandy Creek, with the finish line located next to the pub! There’s an unofficial race to be the first to finish the TT and down a beer!

Finish line on the left, pub on the rightFinish line on the left, Sandy Creek pub on the right

The fog was lifting at the foot of the hill climb in Kilarney this morning The fog was rising as we drove to the foot of the hill climb in Killarney

On Sunday I skipped the hill climb (not literally, that would be silly) and photographed the athletes who made it look so easy. The falls at the summit were quite something and reminded me to spend more time in nature (and remember my tripod for truly awesome shots).

The fastest runner...The fastest runner going flat out to the start of the hill climb

20140525-SUE_4863

It’s business as usual for Brisbane Running Buddies who participate every year

The 1500m dash completed the event and I managed a 1km PB. Next year I’ll return, with some training and attempt all five challenging races. It was fantastic being with the Brisbane Running Buddies – what a great bunch of people! I thoroughly enjoyed your company over the weekend. Thanks to Dave for extending the invitation.

T & Tess

20140525-SUE_4857 20140525-SUE_4893

One thought on “wawick pentath-run 2014

Leave a comment